Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous Peoples

The M-KMA lies in the traditional territories of the Kaska Dena, Treaty 8 and Carrier-Sekani. The following are First Nations Communities found within or adjacent to the M-KMA.

Treaty 8 First Nations

  • Halfway River First Nation
  • Prophet River First Nation
  • Fort Nelson First Nation

Kaska Dena First Nations

  • Kwadacha First Nation
  • Daylu Dena Council
  • Dease River First Nation
  • Fireside
  • Muncho Lake


  • Tsay Keh (say-kay) Dene

Indigenous Peoples

Quick Facts

The Muskwa-Kechika Management Area is 6.4 million hectares, approximately the size of Ireland.